On Air Now Alan Steadman 9:00pm - 11:00pm
Now Playing Coldplay Fix You

Every candidate standing in the general election in Tameside

The candidates for this year’s general election have now been confirmed.

Voters will go to the polls in 27 constituencies across Greater Manchester on July 4, with the election now less than a month away. Across the UK, 650 seats are up for grabs in the first nationwide election since 2019.

Rishi Sunak will be hoping to keep his Conservative Party in power, therefore extending their 15 years in Downing Street. But Sir Keir Starmer’s is aiming to become Labour’s first Prime Minister since Gordon Brown in 2010.

Now, the candidates in every seat in the city have been revealed. Constituency boundaries have changed significantly since the last general election however, so it is worth checking to see if your constituency has changed.

Once you know where you stand, check below to see who is standing where you are.

This article will be updated when the candidate list for Gorton and Denton is released.



Robert Barrowcliffe - Reform

Lizzie Hacking - Conservative

Dominic Hardwick - Liberal Democrats

Aroma Hassan - Workers Party

Lee Huntbach - Green

Angela Rayner - Labour


Gorton and Denton

Amir Yousuf Burney - Workers Party

Amanda Gardner - Green

Andrew Gwynne - Labour

Lee Moffitt - Reform

John Reid - Liberal Democrats

Ruth Welsh - Conservative


Stalybridge and Hyde:

Phil Chadwick - Conservative

Robert Hodgetts-Haley - Green

Barbara Kaya - Reform

Kamala Kugan - Liberal Democrats

Ian Owen 

Audel Shirin - Workers Party

Jonathan Reynolds - Labour

More from Tameside Reporter


  • Tue


  • Wed


  • Thu


  • Fri


  • Sat