On Air Now Alan Steadman 9:00pm - 11:00pm
Now Playing Coldplay Fix You

Dove Holes take on DCCL select XI in Alan Johnson memorial match

An annual celebration of Alan Johnson's contribution to the Derbyshire and Cheshire Cricket League, this year's memorial T20 match was held on Friday 31st May, and saw a DCCL Select XI take on 2023 Bissenden Cup Winners, Dove Holes CC at home.

DCCL won the toss and elected to field first, putting Dove Holes into bat. Dove Holes scored 128-8 (20) with Shaun Cartledge top scoring on 31 runs. Harry Wyatt took 3-9 (3). In response, the DCCL sailed to 129-3 (15.3) aided by a fantastic 69 not out from Jake Higginbotham.  DCCL won by 7 wickets.

DCCL Match Report – Saturday 1st June 

A dry and sunny weekend, perfect cricket conditions, and some amazing batting and bowling performances this week in the First Division of the DCCL, sponsored by Complete Weed Control. The top of the table currently has Dove Holes top on 102 points, chased by Old Glossop in second on 87 points, and hot on their heels are Dinting (82 points) and Hayfield (72 points).

Dinting CC vs Tintwistle CC

Tintwistle won the toss and elected to field first, putting the home team into bat.  Dinting scored 150 all out (44.1) the highest score (50) going to the extras (including 39 wides). Despite this, Tintwistle bowlers Alex Brown took 4-39 and Tom Scott took 3-45. In response, Tintwistle scored 108 all out (36.3) with Matt Mayne top scoring on 29 not out. Dinting’s Ryan Nixon took 4-30 and Thomas Pugh took 4-31. Dinting won by 42 runs. [Dinting 18 points, Tintwistle 6 points]

Dove Holes CC vs Hazel Grove CC

Hazel Grove won the toss and elected to bat first.  Hazel Grove only managed 44 all out (21.4) held down by an epic bowling performance from Dan Gilbride who took 6-14 from 11 overs (including 5 maidens) backed up by Sean Critchlow and Dave Cartledge with 2 wickets each.  In response, Dove Holes quickly knocked off 45-1 (9.4). Dove Holes won by 9 wickets. [Dove Holes 20 points. Hazel Grove 0 points]

New Mills CC vs Hayfield CC

New Mills won the toss and elected to field first. Hayfield scored 179 all out (44.1) the middle order putting in a solid performance. New Mills’ bowler Maxi Lomakin Rogers took 4-31 (9.1).  In response, New Mills could only reach 92 all out (25.5).  Hayfield ‘s Ant Ebbrell took 4-13 (4). Hayfield won by 87 runs.  [New Mills 5 points. Hayfield 19 points]

Newton CC vs Broadbottom CC

Broadbottom won the toss and elected to field first.  Newton scored 123 all out (39) with Fawad Khalid top scoring on 36 runs. Broady’s bowler Tayyeb Gull took 4-17 (11) including 4 maidens, and Noman Ghous took 3-34 (12) including 3 maidens. In response, Broadbottom scored 129-6 (31.4) with Seb Croft top scoring on 38 not out. Newton’s Paul Littlewood took 3-34 (8).  Broadbottom won by 4 wickets. [Broadbottom 19 points. Newton 4 points]

Pott Shrigley CC vs Whaley Bridge CC

Whaley won the toss and elected to field first.  Pott Shrigley scored 230 all out (39.1) aided by a magnificent knock from big-hitter Simon Rajwer who scored 156 runs (including 6 fours and 16 sixes). There were four wickets for Henry Holden (4-44) and three for Eddie Ford (3-62). In response, Whaley struggled to 95 all out (32.4) with Alex Pearson top scoring on 30 not out. Pott Shrigley’s Alexander Jackson took 4-21, Andy Tatton took 3-24 and James Bridgeford took 3-26. Pott Shrigley won by 135 runs. [Pott Shrigley 20 points. Whaley Bridge 5 points]

Stalybridge CC vs Old Glossop CC

Old Glossop won the toss and elected to field first. Stalybridge made hard work of their 81 all out (27.1) held back by some incredible bowling from Old Glossop’s Akhil Kalvagunta who took a mighty 5-6 (7.1) including 3 maidens. In response, Old Glossop made 85-3 (20.3) with opening batsman Jack Thorley seeing them through on 51 not out. Stalybridge’s Gary Sandiford took two of the three wickets (2-1 from 4 overs). Old Glossop won by 7 wickets. [Stalybridge 1 point. Old Glossop 18 points]

Next week’s fixtures – Saturday 8th June at 1pm. Division One – Broadbottom CC vs Hayfield CC, Hazel Grove CC vs Pott Shrigley CC, Newton CC vs Dinting CC, Old Glossop CC vs New Mills CC, Tintwistle CC vs Dove Holes CC, Whaley Bridge CC vs Stalybridge CC.

More from Sport


  • Tue


  • Wed


  • Thu


  • Fri


  • Sat