On Air Now Alan Steadman 9:00pm - 11:00pm
Now Playing Coldplay Fix You

Who might stand in the general election?

Rishi Sunak’s rain-soaked announcement that the UK will go to the polls on July 4 means that politicians, campaigners, and volunteers now face a gruelling six weeks on the road trying to persuade voters to back their candidate.

It’s going to be a campaign which touches every corner of the country — and Greater Manchester — as Labour attempt to regain power after 14 years in opposition, and the Conservatives try to secure nearly 20 years in Downing Street.

But there is still a long way to go in the campaign. While battlelines are still being drawn between Keir Starmer and Rishi Sunak, the parties are also still finalising who will stand in each seat.

In Greater Manchester, there are 27 seats up for grabs — which have undergone some major changes following boundary reviews — meaning more than 100 people will be on the ballot papers across the city-region. And although not every seat is completely filled, we do have some idea of who will be standing.

Thanks to the LDRS own understanding website Who Can I Vote For?, a public database of runners and riders, we’ve put together a comprehensive list below of who might be on the ballot paper in July.

Altrincham and Sale West

  • Jane Brophy, Liberal Democrats
  • Oliver Carroll, Conservatives
  • Geraldine Coggins, Green
  • Paul Swansborough, Reform


  • Dominic Hardwick, Liberal Democrats
  • Aroma Hassan, Workers
  • Angela Rayner, Labour

Gorton and Denton

  • Andrew Gwynne, Labour
  • John reid, Liberal Democrat

Oldham East and Saddleworth

  • Debbie Abrahams, Labour
  • Sam Al-Hamdani, Liberal Democrats
  • Shanaz Saddique, Workers

Oldham West, Chadderton, and Royton

  • Hannah Kitching, Liberal Democrats
  • Jim McMahon, Labour
  • Raja Miah, Independent

Stalybridge and Hyde

  • Jamie Dwan, Liberal Democrats
  • Barbara Kaya, Reform
  • Jonathan Reynolds, Labour
  • Audel Shirin, Workers



More from Oldham Reporter


  • Tue


  • Wed


  • Thu


  • Fri


  • Sat