On Air Now Alan Ovington 7:00pm - 9:00pm Playing Four Letter Word - Kim Wilde
Now Playing Kim Wilde Four Letter Word

Runners brace the heat and face the Mossley 10k

Race winners! Dave and Martha

Our fantastic local runners battled the heat as they geared up to take on the Mossley 10k.


As the sun beamed down on Sunday (17 July), hundreds of dedicated runners from around Tameside and beyond prepared to take on the intense Mossley 10k race.

Starting and finishing at Mossley AFC’s Seel Park, the course takes runners on an undulating journey through the beauty of Mossley, Greenfield and Saddleworth. This race attracts a mix of social runners, charity fundraisers and elite competitors.

All finishers received an official medal and ‘goodie bag’, with a range of trophies given to those winning their respectable age categories and open race.

This year, both the male and female course records were broken, an unbelievable achievement considering the conditions.

See if you can spot yourself in our photo album, images by Nigel Wood.

Winner of the race, David Barratt of Salford Harriers, completed the course in a new record of 32:22. Putting in a fantastic performance, Dave powered ahead and created a great distance from runners behind him.

Women’s race winner Martha Tibbot of Saddleworth Running Club, championed through in a time of 37:45, holding the new record.

Both winners received a meal at The Old Original.

The day was a huge success with a record number of entries. Floods of volunteers made this event possible, from packing bags to marshalling the course, the help was unbelievable and made for an event like this to take place.

After two years, Mossley 10k returned bigger and better.


Overall top 10 males:

1) David Barratt – Salford Harriers

2) Nigel Hockin – Slaithwaite Striders

3) Gavin Browne – East Cheshire Harriers

4) Rob James – Royton Road Runners

5) Michael Mannings – Oldham and Royton H & AC

6) Matthew Latham – Salford Harriers

7) Ashley Buckley – Salford Harriers

8) Chris Phillips – Unattached

9) Gareth Raven – Mossley AFC Running Club

10) Aiden Moyles – Hyde Village Striders

Overall top 10 females:

1) Martha Tibbot – Saddleworth Runners

2) Isobel Rea – West 4 Harriers

3) Aliesha Smith – East Cheshire Harriers

4) Laura Suzanne Coucill – Salford Harriers

5) Emma Finney – Unattached

6) Rebecca Avanession - Unattached

7) Amy Smith – Holmfirth Harriers

8) Nicola Lloyd – Unattached

9) Nicky Ottaway – Holmfirth Harriers

10) Janet Louise Jobey – Royton Road Runners

Seniors W45

1) Isobel Rea - West 4 Harriers

2) Rebecca Avanession - Unattached

3) Nicky Ottaway - Holmfirth Harriers

Seniors W55

1) Sarah Lake - Unattached

2) Debra Wardle - Unattached

3) Linda Connaughton - Unattached

Seniors W60

1) Carole Milnes - Eden Runners

2) Susan Heaney - Royton Road Runners

3) Kathryn Bardsley - Hyde Village Striders

Seniors M45 

1) Gareth Raven - Mossley AFC Running Club

2) Mark Collier - Salford Harriers 

3) Shane Reading - Royton Road Runners

Seniors M55

1) Shaun Chambers - Salford Harriers

2) Neil Brock - Royton Road Runners

3) Dave Peart - Royton Road Runners

Seniors M60

1) Gary Dale  - Salford Harriers

2) Phil Wilcoxon - Belle Vue Racers

3) Alan Byrne - Glossopdale Harriers

Enter your email address and tick the box below for regular round-ups of the most important stories in YOUR local area... 

Want more local sports stories?

Head to https://www.questmedianetwork.co.uk/news/sport/ to see more of our coverage - from community and non-league football to local and county cricket, boxing, athletics, basketball, Esports and golf.


  • Wed


  • Thu


  • Fri


  • Sat


  • Sun