Have your say on new ward map for Oldham

Current wards in Oldham Borough Council.

New boundaries are being proposed for council wards in Oldham Council.

The Local Government Boundary Commission has launched a 10-week consultation on the proposals and wants to hear what residents and local organisations think about the plan.

Running until August 9, the consultation is asking for thoughts on the commission's view there should be 20 wards with three councillors per ward. Three wards will remain the same and 17 will change.

In response to evidence received, the Commission proposes significant changes to the existing wards in the Chadderton area.

In the Royton and Shaw and Crompton areas, the commission proposes a number of amendments to the existing wards reflecting evidence received.

To strengthen ward boundaries, the commission is also proposing to transfer a small area of Shaw and Crompton parish to Royton North ward.

Professor Colin Mellors, chair of the commission, said: "We want people in Oldham to help us. We have drawn up proposals for new wards in Oldham. We want to make sure these new electoral arrangements reflect communities.

"We also want them to be easy to understand and convenient for local people. Residents and local organisations can help us do that. We would like them to let us know whether they agree with our proposals before we take final decisions. It’s easy to get involved.

"Go to our website or you can e-mail or write to us. Just tell us what you think and give us some details why you think that. It’s really simple, so do get involved.”

The Commission has a dedicated section on its website where people can see the detail of the proposals and comment on the names of wards and their boundaries - https://consultation.lgbce.org.uk/node/24328 

People can also give their views by e-mail at reviews@lgbce.org.uk, and by post:

Review Officer (Oldham)
PO Box 133
NE24 9FE.

Read more from the Oldham Reporter

Click here for more of the latest news

Listen Live


  • Thu


  • Fri


  • Sat


  • Sun


  • Mon